Good year, Bad year

I won’t be terribly long-winded today, just a strange observation I wanted to make.

Isn’t it strange how entire years could be deemed “good”, while other years are considered “bad”?

I think of some years and cringe, thinking… “Dear God, I’m so glad that year is over!”  Some years bad thing after bad thing occurred.

The reason this captures my attention is because years (like all measurements of time) are man-made concepts.  There should be no reason a year should be good or bad, but some years have a certain “energy” to them.

Think about it… Perhaps it was a year you lost a loved one, lost a job, got evicted from your house, got dumped, etc. the year will be marred by a bad enough event. If you’re like me, these events will happen in large bundles.

On the contrary, a good year may be a series of good events… a new job, a promotion, a good relationship, a fun vacation, etc. Or (if you’re like me) you may consider a year “good” by its lack of tragedies!

I know I’m not the only one who thinks like this… No matter how odd you think you are, there is always someone who does the same thing or thinks the same way about a particular thing.

-J

Leave a Reply

